Home > Quick Thoughts > Talking To Yourself

Talking To Yourself


The benefits of talking to yourself are many:

•First of all you can’t lie to yourself. No matter how much you try to hide it, your conscience will be there to let you know. Keeps you honest.

•Speaking outloud liberates you from the pressure of all your inner conflicts.

•You get in touch with your feelings. You have an obligation of being honest to them or you’ll be hurting yourself.

•Truth will come out. When we think but don’t speak we tend to hide or neglect the truth.

•It becomes easier to be reassured of any desicion taken.

•You will feel relieved after a few minutes of this excercise.

I often do this when I’m in doubt or feel distressed or confused and it has really helped me get my decisions clear. What do you think? Do you think it’s silly or a crazy thing?

Categories: Quick Thoughts Tags: , ,
  1. August 3, 2010 at 4:10 am

    Not at all. I have been a long time practicer of talking to myself strategies, and find it useful as well.

    • August 3, 2010 at 4:44 am

      Thank you for commenting salmdunk! Glad to hear you benefit from this as well. It’s a great exercise contrary to what some people say.

  2. August 4, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    I don’t think it’s crazy or silly at all. I sometimes talk to myself, but mostly I write to myself – I personally find writing helps me best with processing my thoughts and feelings, and working out what I want to do and planning to do it. I guess everyone has different ways of ordering their inner world.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

